Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:47 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:01 am
Posts: 11
I played UO back in 97... played for years. Haven't really played for 4 years though. I saw Iris and I was speechless. My amazement and excitement enticed me to get back into UO. Well, I used to have my own shard, own scripts and graphics that replaced the entire interface. I plan on starting my own shard again but using Iris. I'm a good graphic designer and decent scripter so I'm willing to help out with anything Iris staff needs. When I get things going donating isn't a lost option. Let me ask this...

Can I build a world in 2D, then simply use the 3D client?

If I'm reading everything right, you can, and that's amazing.

Also, can I create custom maps... will the 3D client adapt or no?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:05 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:32 pm
Posts: 122
you can easly create 2d maps width 3d support,

Iris2 is working with map tiles and switching them to 3d models.

You Can Build a World 2d Then U Can Use 3d Client,
You Can Create Custom Maps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:01 am
Posts: 11
Yeah, this is going to be extremely fun.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:36 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:32 pm
Posts: 122
but;
- There is some bugs to be fixed.

and you must do some server-side changes;
- field spells.
- cons arma spell.
- spell fizzle action.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:52 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
hi and welcome =)

what iris can NOT do is automatically generate 3d models for custom graphics.
so you can build a custom map with existing uo graphics,
but if you also want custom graphics (statics,items,monsters etc) you'd have to make 3d models for them to be shown in 3d.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:44 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
hi,

welcome. thanks for compliments :-).

Take a look at our Testshard Project. There we build a custom map for the Iris 3d Renderer using 2d Tools.

--> http://www.iris2.de/index.php/Iris-Test ... evelopment

When creating a map you can take any Maprenderer Tools you want but we also have a nice Tool called: UOTC.

This is a very good map Editor: http://www.aksdb.de/CentrED/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 9
So is it theorethically possible just to build with the old Ultima Online Tiles on a Centred server and then it is converted into the 3d Tiles?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 11:25 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
yes, not just theoretically, uo terrain and objects already have 3d coordinates, iris just displays them.
iris isn't limited to the standard maps that come with uo, you can make your own map and place buildings/furniture/items on it as well.

as already said if you add new item types, there will be no 3d model for iris to display them, so they'll be an ugly flat image.

what you have to watch out for when building a map with items is that you make reasonable use of the uo z coordinate,
since the uo 2d client has a fixed camera angle :
if you place mugs or dishes on a tabel, and change their z-coordinate too much,
they might look right in the uo 2d client with the fixed cam,
but when you look around with the free cam in iris they might be floating in mid-air.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 10:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 9
For instance I build a map with centred you see the tiles in 2d. Do we see them in 3d then?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:30 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Of couse. Why not?

Or do you mean, you want to see the 2D tiles in 3D!?

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:53 am
Posts: 9
Yeah if it is possible to see the tiles in Centred in 3d instead of the normal 2d view.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:29 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
But CentrED is a different programm and only 2D and does not have a 3D Engine.

So no.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group