Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:11 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:38 pm 

Hello everyone, this is my first post, but I have been watching this project from its very early stages. I am freakin' thrilled at how far it has come.

I am a 2d/3d artist, and I have worked on several small UO servers in my life. I have gone through the pain of creating 3d animated monsters, and saving out frames of 2d animation for the 2d client... however I have never been able to create anything in true 3d because of the Granny format.

I don't wish to replace any of the current models, but I would like to make new monsters, decorations, and items.

Does anyone have any tips? pointers? I am not much of a coder, but I have done some, as well as scripting for RunUO, UOX, and SphereServer.

If I can find out how to get my 3d monsters into UO-Iris, either for me or for the public, I would finally have a reason to step away from World of Warcraft and spend more time on portfolio work.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:19 pm 
iris2-developer

hi and welcome to our forums =)

since we're using ogre3d we're not limited to granny models, ogre itself also has a model format.

you'll find exporters for blender,3dsmax,Maya and a few others here :
http://www.ogre3d.org/index.php?option= ... Itemid=133

if you are working with blender, i made an enhanced version of that modeller with a nice feature that might also be worth a look :
http://sfz.schattenkind.net/wiki/index. ... romBlender

we haven't coded an easy way to specify which ogre meshes to use yet, but if you are interested in using this, i think i can squeeze it in in the next few days.

things to consider :
iris is only a client, so to add a NEW monster, you'll have to add it on the server as well.
However, you CAN replace existing monsters without modifying the server.