Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 24, 2020 7:53 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
i usually call these surfaces with more than 3 points polygons

so.. i have 72 *.mesh files here
one *.material

two *.png
one of them is made of already existent textures(just copied from your files)
the other one are uo images adjusted in microsoft paint (lol) and have to be changed =P

can i upload with these textures?


the files http://www.4shared.com/file/38838013/2cf7b58/models1.html

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:47 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
You can upload an archive to our contribution upload. You also have to select a license. We don't take other stuff without a license. We don't want to have legal problems.

It's also not allowed to manipulate UO images and distribute them :-/. We have to make a texture or a dummy texture for this.

What if have seen so far is really nice. Good work. It's very good to see someone has a good experience to develop new models and gfx without much help from us :-).

So if you keep on doing models, i suggest ghouly and hagish that you can join our team. We really need support in Iris graphics.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:54 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Another Tip from me.

You don't have to rotate and save a *.mesh for every 3d-model direction in UO.
We have a lua\filter\filter.art.lua file who does this job.
You can adjust this file and only have to give us the modifications.

It works like this:
You have a mesh with id 3343 and want to rotate it 90° and recenter it, because of the rotation. You also have to define the new Art-ID (maptoid):
Code:
gArtFilter[3343]={maptoid=3340,rotation="x:0,y:0,z:90",xadd=0,yadd=1,zadd=0}


I hope this helps.

I also think it's better to give us the RAW textures (as *.png) and we use our Tool to create the texture Atlas out of all textures. So we are able to create different Atlases with different sizes.
So one Model one *.png. Of couse you can reuse Texture in other models or put small Textures togehter. But the size should not be bigger than 512x512.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 1:00 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Munich, Germany
i just took a short look at our models. here are some thoughts that came to my mind (ill post them even if some of them dont apply to you meshes)

* totally different textures can be different texture images because the texture atlas is generated automatically
* if you reuse existing textures just use the names (tex_BLABLA). there is no need to copy the existing texture because they are already in the game
* please also distribute the source (ie. blend)
* if a model is just a rotation of another one (ie. different views of the same wall) you dont need to model them several times with just a different rotation because we can use the same model in different rotations (art filter lua file, rotates the models ingame)
* there is an ingame tool to generate the lua\filter\filter.art.lua entries quite easy (point to the art, press F10, Adjust postition, select art, adjust, you will see the entry in the console)

_________________
O-->---


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
so.. is there any 2d artist?

i uploaded the bones(32 *.mesh files + 4 filter.art entries), they use existing textures =P


and.. another thing, can i edit the existing textures?

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:11 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
No, no 2D Artist yet for Textures :-/. Only for GUI.

The Bone Models are really nice lowpoly models. This is good work!

Do you use our Debugmode for viewing the statics? Maybe you have some suggestions or ideas to enhance it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2008 9:25 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
I added you uploaded Bone Models to Iris2 "unstable" :-).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
thanks =]

uhn..

the "debug" and "offline" buttons disappeared in the unstable version O.o

so i usually login to demise, search for fallbacks, make the model, export, and login again to test it

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 12:36 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
delete your config.lua. and start iris2 again. then you will have a clean config.lua.

or you add this:

Code:
gShardList["#offline"] = {
      gStartGameWithoutNetwork = true
   }

gShardList["#debug"] = {
      gStartInDebugMode = true
   }


But this only works in unstable. Normally it should appear without deleting an old config.lua file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:01 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Munich, Germany
another hint:
if you put
gDumpMissingModels = true
into your config.lua and create a directory named
missing
inside you bin directory (next to the iris executable)
the game will store the uo art image of every missing model that gets loaded. its not 100% perfect but its a nice hint what to model.

_________________
O-->---


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 9:45 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Good hint!
@hagish: But we should skip the Skippedfallbacks there! Otherwise someone thinks, that we don't have a model for this multitile Object.

Description:
"Skippedfallbacks is a list with tiles from bigger Multitile Items, to hide them. Thats because we have a Mesh model for them, but they are bind to only one TileID. So we have to skip the others. Examples are Beds, Cannons aso."
here you can find infos, what i mean: http://iris2.de/index.php/Static_3D-Models

i mentioned your work in our developer-blog.
http://iris2.de/index.php/Dev_Blog#Busy_.26_3D_Models


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 1:16 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Munich, Germany
there the "not 100% perfect" :) because i was just to lazy to implement the check against the skip fallbacks :) but i just implemented the missing check.

_________________
O-->---


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
hehe
so... i'll try the "gDumpMissingModels = true" =P

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
uploaded some other models..

(some of the textures are copy... i don't want to remake the uvw of every model =| )

also darkened some textures so umbra looks more like... umbra (they are in a folder called "darker umbra")


uhn.. the "gDumpMissingModels = true" seemed to save the art of existing models too O.o

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:12 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
You are fast. I think hagish has upadated this function. Maybe now you don't get any existing models dumpped.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group