Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Model sizing
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 3
Ok I want to make some models that have decent textures, I'm going to start by doing some walls before I do any animated models to go into the game. so can someone do me a favor and tell me what size the models in Iris are, they say that 1 standard unit in 3dsmax is 1 standard unit in iris, but like whats the height Z of say a standard full size wall? i know traditionally its 20 z in game, but what is it in Iris how big should a model be, are there any 3ds max model examples i can download to see, how do i test the proper sizes?

I want to start replacing some of the graphics with my own stuff, i have the 3dsmax to ogre converter, but what I don't know what the proper dimensions are like what are the proper dimensions of say the battlement size stand stone wall used for the Trinsic walls thats easy enough.


Never mind I got the link to the reference size box done,

this is retarded now I cant find a decent Exporter, I cant get any of them to work, they are either discontinued or they don't work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:14 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
the thickness varies for different walltypes.

dimensions : wall-full width = 1 unit, height = 2 units, thickness : varying, 0.25 - 0.5 units.

maybe interesting :
http://iris2.de/index.php/Models:Walls


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:34 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
importing : can none of the 3ds max tools listed here import .mesh files ?
http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/OGRE_Exporters

ugly workaround if not : there is an importer for blender : http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/BlenderImport
you can probably save it to some format that 3ds can load there.

you can find the ids of the wall models by clicking on the images on the wall-list : http://iris2.de/index.php/Models:Walls
and then searching in the iris/data/models
dir for the filename listed in the left, e.g. "mdl_000088" for this one :
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:45 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
if possible, highres tilable quadratic wall textures, ideally with normalmaps would be cool.
in the long run i want to automatically generate the wall models from those


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 3
I cannot get any of the exporters to work, 2 are no longer supported, 1 I cannot find a link, 1 of them isn't even compiled and i need visual studio 2008 to do so, which i don't want. the remaining ones I cannot get as plugins for 3dstudio, I did get the flash one to work as far as It has a window in 3dstudio, but it wont export at all. and the octopus link has been removed from the yate website... thats the only proplem I have,

Anyone using 3dstudio if you have a working exporter, let me know where to get it thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:38 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
oh my, i did think with that many exporters at least one would work =(

please post your problems on the ogre forums :
http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/

there should be people around there who can help with exporting, i don't think anyone active in these forums uses 3dsmax.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:51 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Earth
For VS2008, would the free VS2008 Express be an option?

_________________
Time is a plaything; But if it breaks, you're f*****.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:22 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
What about using OFusion for Ogre exports with 3DStudio?

oFusion Community Edition 1.8.6
for Max 7/8/9

Download:
http://www.ofusiontechnologies.com/downloads.html

Explanation:
http://www.ofusiontechnologies.com/exporter.html

Forum for this exporter:
http://www.ogre3d.org/addonforums/viewtopic.php?t=5024

I hope this helps.

Update: I added this to our Wiki ( http://www.iris2.de/index.php/Art#3D_Studio_Max )


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group