Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
Hello.

I made some models trying to learn blender, they are bad compared to others, but they're better than a 2D fallback.

Paints and Brush:

http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/5581 ... leteme.png

Flower Pot:

http://img707.imageshack.us/img707/3746 ... leteme.png

Malas Mushroom (It needs a new texture and the texture design is incorrect):

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/9361/62139985.png

Giftbox:

http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/8634/48456130.png

I noticed that iris don't have textures for the new obsidian terrain, and the volcano crater of the fire island (totally black in 2D), so I put these terrains in iris. The texture was gathered from there http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=44702.0

About the license:
Quote:
I don't really care about putting licenses in my work, treat mine as Public Domain. Of course attribution is always nice and appreciated, but it isn't necessary.


http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/4808/11056011.png
http://img294.imageshack.us/img294/6617/14513906.png

Another thing I've noticed. You can't use ships in iris at all, because you can't use the ship plank because is in the list of skippedfallbacks, you can't open the hatch or drydock the boat clicking the tillermam (same reason).

Also the skybox does not change when exiting from a dungeon or chaging facets, you can see the malas skybox in trammel in the obsidian terrain screenshoot.

Other thing: the wither particle crashes the client so I replaced it (is really a big and blue explosion). Wither is supposed to be an area spell, so why not make UO a bit spectacular?

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/1530/89590296.png

Other thing :roll: : Reflections in water are good, but I noticed that water reflects things that are inside it (for example, ground in coastlines).

And the last two things: The new protocol version (post7000) does not work at all, it crashes when I'm hit (using revision 3341). And about the future of Iris: Have you thought what will you do with the Stygian Abyss expansion? There aren't much 3D Artists and looks like anyone is going to create the gargoyle model and it's animation. If iris don't get it, it will become outdated.

PD: if you change

Code:
function gTileFreeWalk:Impl_GetMaxAllowedSpeed      ()
   return 1000 / (gStartGameWithoutNetwork and gWalkTimeout_MountRunningSpeed or WalkGetInterval(true))
end
in lib.tilefreewalk.lua

For:
Code:
function gTileFreeWalk:Impl_GetMaxAllowedSpeed      ()
   return 2000 / (gStartGameWithoutNetwork and gWalkTimeout_MountRunningSpeed or WalkGetInterval(true))
end
the tilefreewalk will be nearly as fast as the normal client walk, buy maybe a little buggy (difficult to descript, try it yourself).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:05 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
whoa, that's a bunch, thanks a lot =)
what shard is this ? i don't know the vulcano, is it on standard client map or shard-specific custom map ?
v7 client is required and seems to work fine (besides some walking-problems in abyss and of course missing models) on the server i mainly play on : vetus-mundus.de, it doesn't have gargoyles and no ter mur yet, only underworld and abyss.
A server where we can test v7 where there are still problems would be good.
Gargoyle : i suppose we can use the standard gargoyle model as placeholder, i don't know any major shard yet that has gargoyle race enabled though.

walk speed : i'd rather suggest trying
<number key="gMaxWalkQueueEntries">6</number>
in config/shards/yourshard.xml
to compensate for heavy lag.


otherwise walk speeds should be very close to original.
assuming human and unmodified original client at least, haven't measured gargoyle speed yet, they might be faster.




what might help with v7 is setting a different seed in the config/shards/yourshard.xml :
<number key="gServerSeed">123123123</number>
i think the default-value migth be a special case that causes problems


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:07 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 1:21 pm
Posts: 173
Location: Munich, Germany
Great, the models are not perfect but a very good start (i just added them to trunk) and perfectly exported :), thanks

_________________
O-->---


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:01 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
dwarf-fortress! small world =) (textures-link)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:21 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
@josemdark:
hey, good work :). I hope we can fix your reported bug and you will do more models. An artist is really needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
The vulcano is on the fire island, trammel, standard map.

You can test the V7 protocol in http://www.pandorauo.com/ , it has gargoyles and Tel-Mur.

The crash when you are hit or you hit seems to be a problem of the UO Legends shard, the 2D client not crashes, but Iris crashes. In pandora Iris works well.

The gMaxWalkQueueEntries appears to work for me, but I still have to check it following a player playing with the 2D client. The gServerSeed setting I had was 1, chaging it didn't make sense.

And the gargoyle speed is supposed to be mounted speed.

@SiENcE
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
I need help :(

I'm making another model (deed) but It doesn't get hued and the written face can only be seen looking to the upside but in blender I can see the face.

I've tried with the four predefined materials and no one works.

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/6317/44263106.png
http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/9381/56751634.png
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/3760/74653129.png

I hope someone knows at least how to hue it (I think that looking from downside that kind of item is uncommon).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:57 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
which predefined materials do you mean ?
do you know another item model for which huing works ? i'll lookup which material it uses then.

hueing in iris can only darken the color so far, so if your base model is yellowish, i cannot be hued white (powerscroll), but it can be hued red or green.

could you make two models, one standard color=unhued, and one white ?

maybe we can add something to specify a special model for a certain hue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
These are the predefined materials.

http://pastebin.com/Gyin7tBK

Hueing works with the bolt of cloth ( http://img576.imageshack.us/img576/309/cloth.png ), but look at the model without hueing http://ghoulsblade.schattenkind.net/iri ... 0x4f9a.jpg . You're right, Iris can only darken models, look at the stick where the cloth is rolled on the yellow hued bolt (on the others the stick is hued).

Quote:
could you make two models, one standard color=unhued, and one white ?

maybe we can add something to specify a special model for a certain hue.



I think it's better in the oposite way and with textures, one texture for the hue 0 and other texture for huening (to work like the bolt of cloth).

I think it can be implemented like this:

Code:
gMaterialFilter[5360,hue0]={maptomaterial=tex_005360}
gMaterialFilter[5360,hue(1-maxhue)]={maptomaterial=tex_005360_hue}


Using in "(1-maxhue)" a range expression (I don't know much programming).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:55 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
josemdark wrote:
I think it's better in the oposite way and with textures, one texture for the hue 0 and other texture for huening (to work like the bolt of cloth).


but this way only the second hueing texture is really needed. you can also define hue0 on materialfilter.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2010 9:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
You mean that the hue 0 will be the white texture hued in a certain color?

EDIT: If you mean it the color musn't be read from hues.mul, because on shards with custom hues it will be displayed incorrectly. For do it Iris should have a internal hues file or the gMaterialFilter should allow to specify a fixed color for a specific hue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:02 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Ah yes you are right. But why not reading and applying from hues.mul?

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
In shards with a custom hues.mul it will be displayed incorrectly.

Imagine that, for example, we hue the deed in color 2391. In the official hues.mul it may be brown (and imagine that we want this color), but in the custom hues.mul it can be black. So, in these shards the players will see the deed black and the deed with hue 0 is in reality brown.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:43 pm 
Offline
Power User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 9:51 pm
Posts: 169
Location: Earth
But that's also the case with the default client, isn't it? You HAVE to use thier custom .mul files to make it work right.

_________________
Time is a plaything; But if it breaks, you're f*****.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:20 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
@josemdark: i don't understand. You can use a custom hues.mul file in every Shard-Config file in Iris2.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group