Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No stack trace log?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 29
I think I'm going to finally stop being lazy and work on some projects. After downloading and updating UO and Iris, I ran around on UO Gamers to see the changes over the past few months and what's currently working and what's not.

Iris crashed (gave an error alert) a few times after being logged in for a few minutes. I checked my Iris folder and found no stack trace log. I dumbly thought it might be some funky Windows Vista permissions thing but it's not :-P

So any ideas why the Ogre.log is generated but not stacktrace?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:13 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
hard to tell, stacktrace should be generated on lua error and on segfault.
Could you please show a screenshot of one of the errors, preferably with as much of the black console window visible as possible ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 29
Bah, almost got done with entire post and accidently hit back :-P

Alright, to retype: I got it to crash again, but I don't think this is the same crash it was before.

I was logged into a shard and had it minimized, when I tried to maximize, it gave an error.

The principle is the same: still no stacktrace.log

I couldn't copy/paste the console because it was locked up as well. Instead of posting a screen shot (which probably would be easier considering that I had it almost typed up and then lost it all), I'll type it:

Code:
FMOD error! (36) An invalid object handle was used.
WARNING ! playing anim 'Eat' failed
WARNING ! length check for anim 'Eat' failed
walk:teleport/resynced
ERROR: job 1 terminated:    not enough memory
ogre::exception
OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException):Cannot reset device! Out of video memory in D3D9RenderWindow::restoreLost Device at ..\src\OgreD3D9RenderSystem.cpp (line 3447)
..\lugre\src\lugre_main.cpp:189:Lugre::Lugre_Run
PrintLuaStackTrace:
LuaStackTrace:

   [C]: in function 'Client_RenderOneFrame'
   ..//lua/main.lua:598: in function 'MainStep'
   ..//lua/main.lua:422: in function (..//lua.main.lua:323)
ERROR : Ogre::exception occurred, see console
OGRE EXCEPTION(3:RenderingAPIException): Cannot reset device! Out of video memory in D3D9RenderWindow::restoreLostDevice at ..\src\OgreD3D9RenderSystem.cpp (line 3447)
If this error remains after running the updater and you think this is a bug
please check the BugTracker at www.iris2.de
and report it if it is not already known.
Please also append the logfile in bin/stacktrace.log to your bugreport.


Hopefully I didn't have any typos...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:23 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
hmm, i see two things going wrong :
a) lua is out of memory
b) ogre is out of video memory

all sorts of stuff can happen then.
how much mainmemory do you have and how much video memory does your gfx card have ?

i'd advise against minimizing/maximizing iris currently, that isn't really well tested.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 29
Here's some snippets from my DxDiag:

Code:
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/22/2009, 10:47:31
   Operating System: Windows Vistaâ„¢ Business (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1 (6001.vistasp1_gdr.080917-1612)
          Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor (4 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
             Memory: 4094MB RAM
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
     DxDiag Version: 6.00.6001.18000 64bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
        Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT 
     Manufacturer: NVIDIA
        Chip type: GeForce 9800 GT
   Display Memory: 2289 MB
Dedicated Memory: 497 MB
    Shared Memory: 1791 MB
     Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)


I built the system about 2 months ago so memory shouldn't be an issue. I mean with Vista and stuff running, I probably only have 1.5-2GB of system memory free in addition to the Geforce's 512 MB.

Does Iris work well when it's windowed, or should I just plan on playing UO and not do anything else for the time being?

Assuming I don't get lazy, I may try and learn more about Iris's code base and maybe take a gander at the code that maximizes.

Thanks Ghoulsblade


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:58 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Hi,

please update/use "unstable" an run Iris2 again.
In release Iris2 uses Luajit which couses a out of memory problem.

We change this with a new release build soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 29
Updated to unstable and it works well. Minimizing/maximizing hasn't caused a crash.
Nothing else has caused the not enough memory crash.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group