Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Thu Aug 06, 2020 9:22 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: startup freeze
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 3:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 4
i have been running around in 3d for the passed few days, no problems. today however, without changing anything when i start iris the game will get to the main screen and it will freeze my whole computer, unfreeze, then freeze again continuously. i have to wait until everything unfreezes to close out. if i wait too long it will freeze again.

i can randomly get into the game, and when i do everything seems fine until i try to switch between programs; in which case everything will freeze again.
when unfrozen everything is fine until i switch back and it freezes again.

thinking back, the only thing i have done is update to build 3021

p.s. Ive tried stable and unstable

p.s p.s computer hardware is not an issue,
6gig ddr3 ram
2.66ghz x 2 processor
512mb ddr3 gpu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 12:24 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Hi,

since build 3035-> up to 3051 the unstable Windows Binary is broken, and crashs with a segfault.

Try to use Iris2 stable if you wanna have a stable environment.

Unstable is used for us developers to test new things. We do not guaranty that unstable will work the whole time.

Switching between applications Iris2 (fullscreen) <> Desktop is not usuable, because windows needs to refill the whole graphic buffer. This may needs time. A lot of time.

Use Iris2 windowed.

I think you use Vista right? Vista is relatively untested because no one of us Developers has a Vista License.

-> Sponsoring / Donation :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 4
it happens with both stable and unstable

also, i am using windowed mode


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:40 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
maybe a problem with your ram or vram on the gfx card ?
do other 3d applications/games run ok ?
try updating video driver


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:24 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Please tell us your system specs (OS, drivers, graphiccard type, ...).

Tell us which Iris2 Version you use (stable/unstable, build?).

Tell us which UO Version you use.

Also send us the console-output.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group