Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 11:59 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
@Willian_III: Hi again. I added some of your new model package models to Iris2 unstable.

Only some, because i talked a bit with hagish and Ghoulsblade and we come to the desission (to stay consistant) that it's better, not to put textures in a manual texture atlas.

It's more flexibel to use our autogenerated Texture atlas. We are also able to define skipped texture that don't go into the texture atlas (Grass and Leaves for example).

Can i ask you to redo the UV mapping and seperate the textures in the texture atlas? (and of couse you can define more than one UV mapping in one texture).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:43 pm
Posts: 29
Not that I'm helping or anything, but I wanted to give encouragement to those that are.

It seems like a daunting task to recreate the 2D item set, GUI skins, 3D models, and 3D animations, but threads like this and the GUI thread are how things are done. One piece at a time until everything is done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Brazil
fine, i can do that

but, how are the atlases made?

can i send the textures in individual files?

_________________
this is my signature...i guess


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:29 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Just as we did with the other textures. You can find them in "data\models\textures\".

We use a tool to generate the Atlas's from this textures. You can find the generated Atlas's for med, low and ultralow under "data\models\atlas".

Of couse you can reuse textures as you did already and you can put all textureparts into one texture.

Like here for a bed: http://zwischenwelt.org/trac/iris/brows ... ex_278.png

or just one Texture without Alpha Channel: http://zwischenwelt.org/trac/iris/brows ... ex_134.png


Textures should be a size of ^2. 32x32, 64x64, 128x128, 256x256 or 512x512. Bigger is not needed most of the time.

Try not to use transparent Textures, because it's very difficault to render them good. we have already some problems with them. Try to model a window like a Window and do not the same mistakes as we did with most of our window-walls. :)

You can upload a archive (zip) with the texture, model and material file as you did already.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group