Iris2.de

Iris2-Forum
It is currently Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:28 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
Hello.

I want to compile it on a device runnig linux, arm processor (OMAP 3530), with and embedded GPU (I don't know how powerful is it so far, but I'm happy using the 2D plugin). The bad thing is that the GPU works with OPENGL ES 2.0 (Opengl for mobile devices), but Iris works with OGRE, so I think that it isn't a problem because ogre has a GLES rendering system (see http://ogre.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/ ... erSystems/ ). The other problem is Iris dependencies, I think all dependencies are available for ARM in the debian repository or I can compile them, but i have shown that nvidia-cg-toolkit is only available for x86 and x86_64 processors. What does nvidia-cg-toolkit do? Is part of OGRE or Iris? About the processor I have read that is equivalent to a Pentium II (is an omap3530 (ARM Cortex-A8 600Mhz(overclockable to 720Mhz for almost sure and probably to 800 Mhz and rarely to 900Mhz, but there is a little chance))). I've tested the 2D plugin on a Intel Pentium M processor (downclocked to 800Mhz with the cpu freq selection applet and running GNOME, DEBIAN) and a GMA945 "graphic card" (if it can be called graphic card xD) and the client reachs 18fps in places like Islhenar forests, but the average speed is 15fps (in the same place), the rendering speed of the statics is not bad, but it could be better (ultralow radar map resolution setting, ultralow graphics setting). I'm happy with this speed. But the last bad thing is that the device has 256mb of ram (some consumed by xfce but I can run iris on a xterm if it is neccesary), and I don't know how much RAM is needed to run Iris. Gnome-system-monitor shows that iris is consuming 196 megabytes of ram and in total all the programs I have open consume 224 Megabytes (gnome-system-monitor, gnome-terminal and Iris). I set in config.lua the Ondemand setting to all things that I could. I hope Iris can be complied for it. Playing Iris in a mobile device would be awesome!

Sorry for my bad English and thanks in advance.

EDIT: I forgot... The omap3530 has 1200 DMIPS clocked at 600Mhz and the Pentium M 2312 DMIPS (at 800Mhz, the test speed). Is a very big difference... Maybe clocking the omap at 800Mhz (1600 DMIPS) or 900 (if possible) (1800 DMIPS) the difference is smaller.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:39 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:28 pm
Posts: 823
Location: Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Hi !

nvidia-cg-toolkit : only needed for shaders (special graphical effects like 3d water, or the grayscale when dead), not needed if you remove a line from bin/plugins_linux.cfg :
Plugin=Plugin_CgProgramManager.so

would be awesome if you could get it to run,
but iris does need some strong gfx power even in 2d mode,
so i think it'll be a tough challenge.

best of luck and tell us how it goes =)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:15 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Hey josemdark,

it would be awesome like ghouly said. If we can help you with anything, just tell. Maybe first you should try to run Iris2 with Ogre's OPENGL ES 2.0 plugin on x86. Maybe i can help you building Ogre3d, because i was maintainer for the abbadon Ogre MinGW SDK for x86. What is the state of the OpenGL ES Plugin? Does it fully work?

b.regards.

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 2:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
First, I haven't the device yet. I've preordered, is nearly finished, but not finished.
I've searched and I've found this http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/Hardware#OpenGL_ES if Iris works with GL 1.x then there isn't any problem. The GLES 2.0 plugin is not finished yet. About the GPU I'll try to find more information. Is a PowerVR SGX 530 (110 MHz), but I don't know wich PC card is equivalent to it. There are the device full specs: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandora_%2 ... ifications .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:16 pm 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
Ahhh, you want to port it to the Pandora :D. Great.

I know this and i'm also following this project for years now.

Do they have a Toolchain (compiler, libraries aso.)?

ps: here are some screenshots of ogre running on the iPhone (GLES2) -> http://www.flickr.com/photos/40021446@N ... 211966234/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 25
If porting means whatever@whatever:~$ sh premakelinux.sh yes, i want to port it.

I've found in the pandora wiki the Development Tools Page http://pandorawiki.org/Development_Tool ... evelopment and below there is a GL section. I've read this "PVRTexTool enables conversion of standard bitmap files (e.g. BMP, JPG, PNG, TGA, etc.) to any texture type supported by POWERVR MBX or POWERVR SGX hardware including PVRTC, DXT and ETC compressed formats. Both a GUI and command line version are supplied for Windows and Linux. There are also plug-ins for Autodesk 3ds Max, Maya and Adobe Photoshop." - requires imgtec registration." Does it means that I'll need to convert the texures to these formats? If I convert the textures iris won't load them. Mmm... I should ask in the Pandora forum. But I think that I won't need to do this, if it's true that GPU is very bad :lol:. Also there is a GLES emulator, I'll donwload it.

EDIT: About the textures, It's better to try Iris on the emulator, then I don't need to ask in the pandora forums.

EDIT2: The screenshots doesn't look bad... But 30fps with only a head on the screen!?!?! ( http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2731/427 ... 59_o_d.png ) . Anyway Pandora is more comparable to the iPhone 3GS.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:22 am 
Offline
iris2-developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:20 pm
Posts: 1431
I read this old post of you to port Iris2 to Pandora.

I'm currently involed in Dingoo development and some people ported my Snes Emulator to Pandora. Some people requested, that i should buy an Pandora too. I'm thinking of to buy one, but currently they are not available and the pandora is a bit expensive.

But anyway, what i want to say...what the current state of porting Ogre (Iris2) to Pandora?

_________________
http://crankgaming.blogspot.com/ | https://twitter.com/#!/crank_gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group